Together.

27 09 2014

1 Corinthians 12:25-27

25 that there may be no division in the body, but that the members may have the same care for one another. 26 If one member suffers, all suffer together; if one member is honored, all rejoice together.

27 Now you are the body of Christ and individually members of it.

I’ve been thinking
of this verse today.
Last night, seriously
was a beautiful gift
in so many ways.
A gift to be a witness
of two individuals,
vow to one another the
journey that is set
before them for the rest
of their lives.
Watching how they are both
a gift to each other,
and they are gifts to
our community
and we in return;
we are a gift to them.

The body of Christ.

I get so caught up
in my insecurities
and I over-think
E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G
and I miss out on
community far too often.

Last night,
I loved sitting
and watching all these
people I know,
love each other.
Laughing and dancing
and sharing a meal.
Enjoying the presence of
the community in this
tiny pocket of a town
that I have somehow grown
to love.

Today,
as the joy and fun
of last night lingers
in my heart today,
I remember that we
are not to live alone.
To be isolated.
To be flying solo.
To have our ‘one-man-army’
zipped up.

We are made for each other
through the good and the
bad.
Through the joys and the
deepest of pains.
Through the love and often
miscommunications and
misunderstandings.
We are called to walk
together,
to fight for each other
and to stand up together;
to stand when our fellow
brothers and sisters have
fallen,
or are hurting and need
love and guidance.
We are to encourage each
other and speak life into
the raging seas of doubt.
We are to pray during all
seasons; faithfully for
one another.
We are to have times of
joy and laughter and LIFE
together, amidst the busy
busy lives everyone lives,
we have to pause for the
life-giving fun times…
it doesn’t have to always
be business.

Three years I’ve made
it in the north.
Those who have walked with
me,
I so deeply love this unique
community.

May you find your own
tiny pocket community,
where life is being lived.
Where you aren’t always stuck
in the mundane but are
being lifted up, encouraged
and deeply challenged to
grow and change.
A place where the love flows
naturally in and through
you.
A place where grace always
finds its way into your
heart.
A place where you feel safe
and known and loved
despite all your mistakes
and failures and hurts
and hangups.

There will never be a
perfect community,
but this season of life
has brought such a fabulous
one to me…. I may
completely suck at it,
but I really do try,
and it really is a deep
desire of mine,
to live fully one day,
in a life giving community.

20140927-155404.jpg

Actions

Information




