Question.

3 10 2012

Tonight I was chatting with a friend.
I find it interesting how God weaves
and meshes me in with the friends that I find.

I would say this friend and I are
kind of in opposite places spiritually.
Oh,
but how I wish she knew me only a year ago.
There was joy unspeakable.
There was a fire a’blazin.
A gentleness that has been roughed up.
A love so deep,
And a love for scripture like I’d never known.

Tonight I missed that girl.
The one who thought she’d finally been found,
but that was only for a while.

Now she’s back to being
the wild and the restless
wandering child that she is.
She holds to the cynics heart
yet longs for the truths
she once held dear.

She asked if I would ever love scripture like I used to.
And inside I wanted to cry.
Because this is what instantly came to mind

“Oh, taste and see that the Lord
is good!
Blessed is the man who takes
refuge in Him!”
Psalm 34:8

Yes.
I have tasted and I have seen
with my own eyes,
and I have felt with my own heart;
the goodness of the Lord.
The unexplainable joy
the undeserving gifts of love
and grace and
living with an unspeakable peace
in the midst of the darkest days.

I don’t know if I will ever find that again.
I wonder if those words will speak life
to the drunken soul that seems to roam.
I have fallen back into this deep sea
where I have lived most of my days…
(Ephesians 4:14)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

