A Sweet Reminder

14 04 2012

Today I was chatting with a friend on the phone. We chat twice a week because we are going through a great book together. “Big Truths for Young Hearts” – Bruce A. Ware

Check it out if you ever get a chance. It’s wonderful and continues to help me shape my view of God that has begun to really develop the last two years. 

Anyway, while talking with this friend, she could tell I was stressed. Maybe with my absent mind this morning, and the few words that I was speaking… she could sense I was stressed. And it was nice to hear “Dre… you need to stop being so hard on yourself. I can tell you are stressed, but don’t be… sometimes you need to give yourself a break…”

I see all my imperfections and weaknesses. All the areas that I mess up, all day long. I feel like I don’t ever deserve any slack, but maybe she’s right…. maybe, just maybe I shouldn’t be too hard on myself…. and these times of rest are good for me. I need them. We always need to have times to catch up, and just be

I’m thankful for friends who can tell me, it’s okay to rest right now and to slow down. But also who tell me when it’s time to get up and get moving. Friends who can call me out on my sin point-blank with no fear of my response, because they are simply doing what God has called us to do. To hold each other accountable. To lift each other up and encourage each other along this journey… these friends seem to be coming less and less these days, but I’m thankful for the friends in this season that I have… hoping that I can encourage and push them as much as they encourage and push me…. iron sharpens iron you know.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

