This Weeks Verses

18 01 2012

Here’s a peek at last week’s verses that I was focusing on. And below are the verses I am looking at this week.

“For day and night your hand was heavy upon me; my strength was dried up by the heat of summer. I acknowledged my sin to you, and I did not cover up my iniquity; I said “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord.” And you forgave the iniquity of my sin.” Psalm 32:4-5

I think this verse seems very real to me. I am clinging to sin right now, sin that is comfortable, that I tend to nurse when I am not sure of something, or I tend to go to when I am not continuing to focus on Christ. The first line is very much where I am. I am not sleeping well because I cannot turn off my brain. I cannot let go of my pride and just confess. And the last line just… blows my mind. I have gone months coasting with this sin right below the surface, but able to ignore it and go around it. But now its ugly head has poked out and it is growing and growing like a weed and I can’t stop it. And all this time, I’ve forgotten the most basic truth. He will forgive my sin, if I confess it. May not be profound to you, but to me it sure is; in this moment, this season, where my sin is more evident than normal.

“If anyone thinks he is religious and does not bridle his tongue but deceives his heart, this persons religion is worthless. Religion that is pure and undefiled before God, the Father, is this: to visit orphans and widows in their affliction and to keep oneself unstained by the world.” James 1:26-27

In my opinion, I think this goes well with two of the verses from last week: Jeremiah 17:9 and II Corinthians 13:5… I also think that ‘bridling’ your tongue may (and I can be totally wrong here) mean more than just speaking. I think it can be used for what goes on inside of our hearts that people do not necessarily see. Inside I am storing up all this anger and bitterness and jealousy; my heart is full of sin. I do not want to be a ‘religious’ person, who can just say and do good things. I want to live it. And I think the second half of this verse, is good because I have a tendency to put the focus on self. On me. To look at what hurts in my heart, and what I’m going through, and I have forgotten about the people around me…

“Whom have I in heaven but thee? And besides Thee, I desire nothing on earth. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” Psalm 73:25-26

This can speak for itself. As you can see above, I feel like I have failed in every way, and I need to go back to the basic reminder of the gospel and that I desire Christ more than anything, because obviously I am not living as if that were true…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

