Repentance.

27 11 2011

For those of you who don’t know me well enough. I used to be quite the hater. And I still can be at times. But ever since I listened to that one sermon, my life is radically changing. It is almost a little weird. So many times I step back and look at my thinking/thought process and wonder “Is this for real? Am I really beginning to truly think and act like this? Am I really excited about the gospel like this?”

And I am. I am so very excited to be sharing to anyone who cares to listen about what God is doing in my life, and the lives around me. I am so excited to share the good news that God saved me and He can do the same for you!

So in this time, this season, I tend to be drawn to sermons teaching about things that I did not agree with before. Or, things that I did not want to hear or be taught, because I know… once you hear something taught or pointed out in scripture you are no longer ignorant! I used to play that card a lot. I knew if someone pointed out Biblically, why I was doing something wrong, or how it was sinful, I knew I would be held accountable for that. I think that is a lot of why I used to look for pastors who did the whole prosperity gospel type of thing. Just tell me what I want to hear, and what will make me feel good, and not convict me, and I’ll be okay. I did not want to be held accountable for the real commandments and words of truth. Oh, but I so crave that now! I need it. I want to know.

But sometimes, when you are convicted, it just isn’t that fun. Not that it is bad, but you are left so challenged, it is almost overwhelming. Last night was one of those times. Something I will be looking over, chewing on for a while. I listened to a guy preach on a sermon called “The Fruit of Biblical Repentance”. Ah. Repentance. I used to hate that word. I did not like how it sounded. It just sounded bad and… “too spiritual” or something. I don’t really know. Maybe it sounded to harsh for my ears. It would bring that whole thing where I couldn’t be ignorant about it if I learned too much. well this guy David Pugh, totally brought it in his sermon. I REALLY recommend you listen to it!

The main points I will share, but will not go into detail, because I prefer and would rather you listen to it, so you cannot be ignorant in this area. (: haha.

Based off of II Corinthians 7:4-11

-Repentance: a change of mind, total direction. In the Bible, you see obedience following repentance. There is a change, a fruit.
-The Bible says our hearts are desperately wicked and deceitful.
-Defining and distinguishing between a worldly repentance and a Biblical Repentance (this part was so eye-opening for me!)
-Three fruits of Biblical Repentance
-Invites correction
-Posses godly sorrow
-Eager Obedience that follows
-A lot of times in ‘repentance’ people feel a sorrow over what they did. But, there is also a different between worldly sorrow and Godly sorrow.
-Worldly sorrow: is feeling sorry for something you did that backfires on you. Reflects of a proud/fearful ego. Pride will always regret making a fool of himself and fear will always regret acts that jeopardize comfort and safety. Feeling sorry for something you have done is no sign of virtue. The focus on worldly sorrow is focused on consequences, embarrassment, self-pity. We think that is repentance but it is not.
-Godly sorrow: Reflects of a conscience that has wounded God’s ego, not its own. So the focus is the uncomfortable feeling of guilt when the Word of God shows you what you have done is sin and thus has brought reproach on God’s name. Godly sorrow is the regret of a God saturated heart, not a world saturated heart. First and foremost a Godly sorrow is grieved because it has detracted from the glory of God and you have grieved God himself such that you need to run to Christ as your advocate.
-Just a mere sense of guilt does not mean it is Biblical repentance. A desire just to escape sins consequences is just showing self-love and self-interest.

So, if that looks interesting at all ( which I hope it does!) I really encourage you to listen to it! If you go to the audio messages on the link of this church, go to page 7 at the bottom, and look for the Fruit of Biblical Repentance by David Pugh. So so good. I would love to hear any comments if you have any if you decide to check it out!

Be convicted, challenged and so incredibly encouraged that there are people out there preaching such amazing solid truth, and not just the prosperity gospel to just make you feel good.

Actions

Information

One response

30 11 2011
Darcie

I care to listen, and I’m in awe at all that God is doing in your life, Dre. We miss you; wish we could share it all in person-blessings.

Leave a Reply

