Airport watching

10 11 2011

As I was flying to Tuscon the other day, I saw the sweetest couple ever. The little old man had the sweetest face. I watched as the woman was being wheeled in a wheelchair by an airport person, and the man slowly walked beside carrying their things. He was wearing a veterans hat, a nice bling bling that looks like it came from serving our country, and a purple shirt with slacks. He was so cute as they walked up to sit in the row in front of me, as he kept looking at me and winking, all innocent like old people do. They’re either sweet or grumpy. I think at that age, some people either realize the important things in life and cling to those, or they live with a lot of regret, or live through a lot of hard things and continued to allow the chips on their shoulders to grow deeper and deeper. This couple was so sweet in the way they chatted and talked with each other.

I want to know their story. Still. I think of them here, weeks later. I want to know what kept their marriage together. How long have they been married. 5 years or 50? I want to know who their children are, and if they have a sense of humor that he does…

I did catch small conversations with them on the plane as they sat in front of me, with a 30-something soccer player. He seemed to enjoy their conversation, and everyone who looked at the old man just had a smile as they watched him. He was just contagious with his happiness. His smile lit up the plane, it as so neat…

The other day at work, my last table was a late 60- early 70 year old couple. My other tables had gone, and this couple had told me earlier that they enjoyed my personality and wished I could sit and chat. So when my other two tables left, I pulled up a chair next to their booth and chatted for 45 minutes. I learned that they have been married for 62 years this year. They are so in love now, even as they were when they were young. He has worked in the same company their whole marriage. They have nine children. They said don’t ever have that many kids if a) you’re not emotionally stable. Something is ALWAYS going on, and you need to be emotionally stable in order to handle all the curve balls and crazy things life throws your way with that many children. b) you’re not physically healthy. You need to be able to keep up with them all! He said that his wife is brilliant and he didn’t marry a stupid lady. They said that they live for each other. They wake up talking, they talk all day, and they go to bed talking. They deeply love each other, and they are so happy that they pushed through the hard times. Even though for the most part, he felt like they were both pretty easy going. He told me don’t worry about not having a college degree. The world’s success shouldn’t be the standard I need to be holding mine up to.

I told them I’m a Christian, and as I sat and listened to all his success (even though he told me the world’s isn’t important, it was def. important to him, and the success of all his children was pretty awesome to hear all the big things and big businesses they are all working for) through his lifetime, I could not help but thing of King Solomon. As I read his story the other day. I wanted to ask him if he felt fulfilled. But I was not sure how to go about sharing the gospel and asking them if they knew that when they died, their work was not done in vain…

I have been praying that the Lord gives me opportunities to share the gospel at work. He has been answering that. And I am now asking, not only does he continue to give those opportunities, but that he will make my heart bold and courageous to share. I feel like I am so small in my faith, I do not know how to explain the gospel well, and what if I miss a big part of it? What if I say it out of order? Or they ask questions I do not know?

I hope this is not out of context but I like this verse… “Then I said, ‘Ah, Lord God! Behold, I do not know how to speak, for I am only a youth.’ But the Lord said to me, ‘Do not say, ‘I am only a youth; for to all to whom I send you, you shall go, and whatever I command you, you shall speak. Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you to deliver you, declares the Lord.'” Jeremiah 1:6-8

Praying I continue to plant myself in scripture and studying His word to the best of my ability, and that I can be sensitive to opportunities

.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

