The Gospel Take 1.

25 10 2011

This may sound crazy to those of you who have not walked closely with me the last year and a half. But this week, the gospel finally clicked for me. It finally makes sense to me, in a whole new way!

Yes, I was raised in the church, in a good Christian family, in a good church with a very unique and awesome youth group. Since I have been in college, I have been fighting my faith out. For the longest time, I went along with what I was raised, but over the years, after many different experiences all across the board on the different perspectives and theological views of Christianity, I was confused and just didn’t know what I believed. “…so that we may no longer be children, tossed to and fro by the waves and carried about by every wind of doctrine, by human cunning, by craftiness in deceitful schemes.” Ephesians 4:14

The last year and a half in San Antonio, God so graciously placed me in this little church, that did nothing but take me in and present me the gospel time after time after time again. These people challenged me in my everyday walk and way I lived my life. The first nine months were more of a season of spiritually just fighting out all the different perspectives and questions I had. This church was very patient and loving while walking with me through my season of doubt.

Most of my time there, I could not understand why they cared so much about the gospel, and why they talked about it all the time. I just thought it was a big group of Bible thumping people, but something deeper inside me was drawn to their way of living. I was constantly told that I needed to be reminded of the gospel day after day, moment by moment, and honestly, it annoyed me more than anything…

The last year and a half, layer by layer, the Lord has been so gently peeling away the questions and doubts, and breaking down walls that have been built up over the years of anger and bitterness. I had built my own prison of being a “victim” and God has so graciously opened my eyes to that, and broken that perspective!

This last week I started listening to podcasts because I do not attend church right now because of work. A friend of mine sent a link to a pastor, Erik Raymond she listens to. So one night I randomly picked one that had an interesting title. It was called Christ’s agony, our joy. I liked the contrast in the title, so I listened… if you get a chance, please check out that podcast, it seriously changed my life in a weird way.

Basically, he presented the gospel and for some reason, it totally made sense to me! I never focused on much except the physical aspect of Christ’s death. I never thought much about the spiritual aspect of the cross (crazy, i know. Thats kind of the big deal here.) The whole idea of the ‘hour in the cup’, seriously was nothing but a poetic line in the Bible. I didn’t understand the meaning of what the cup actually stood for. I truly believe Jesus met me in a very real way that night, and I have had an unspeakable joy in my heart. I am also so glad that that ‘Jesus moment’ came through because of scripture. No questions or doubts can be raised, because it was straight out of the Bible what I was hearing and reading and soaking into the foundation of my heart. It wasn’t some super- out there crazy experience, it was simply reading the word, or rather hear it being read and explained to me.

The last year and a half God has been slowly and gently working in my heart. Breaking away those experiences that had slapped a ‘Jesus’ sticker on them, and left me super confused and with no foundation. He has been chipping away the unforgiveness and anger in my heart, and pointing out some deeply rooted heart issues and sins that I danced around.

I am so thankful that the Lord has been working so much in my heart this last year, and truly revealing Himself through scripture and not an experience that had the approval stamped ‘Jesus’. I believe that what the Bible says is nothing but truth, and I am beginning to see the goodness and richness of His Word. “They are not of the world, just as I am not of the world. Sanctify them in truth; your word is truth. As you sent me into the world, so I have sent them into the world. And for their sake I consecrate myself, that they also may be sanctified. in truth.” John 17:16-20

I am thankful for the patience and prayers of so many people in my life, I am blown away by the overwhelming amount of love that has been shown to me the last few years. It’s amazing how God works, I don’t understand it, but I am so glad I’m not in charge.

And I will end with my favorite verse. “And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.”

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 10 2011
Amanda Niermann

Dre!! I just wanted to leave a comment and say I read your post! :) I’m so happy that you’ve had this life changing experience and the Lord has brought you through the desert and to a spring of Living Water!! :)

26 10 2011
Kimberly

I love this Andrea!! Love, love, love it! Everything about it! I love the sweetness I hear in your words. The breaking down of a “hard-headed” spirit;), that while not always bad, can keep us from laying aside all of our preconceived ideas and beliefs to just let Jesus speak. I love it when He speaks simply.. Just through the words on the pages of His Word! It’s beautiful and YOU are beautiful! It has been so sweet to watch the incredible things God has done in you the last few years. Thanks for sharing your life with me! I love you!!!!

Leave a Reply

